Review: Cold Memory by Leslie A. Kelly

Format: ebook
Pub Date: January 2017
Publisher: Self Published
Length: 260 pages
FTC: Purchased myself

I was a HUGE fan of the first two books of this series, which Leslie Kelly published under the name Leslie Parrish several years back. (Cold Sight was 2010) Unfortunately, they didn't sell well enough for her publisher to continue to support the series. Thankfully, Kelly decided to bring the series back on her own.  This is book 3, but I believe they can all stand alone.

What I love about these books is that the paranormal aspects aren't too far outside of what we already consider normal. It's light on the woo woo. These are pretty much standard romantic suspense, and 3/3 the mysteries are good and compelling.

Fair warning for those with vivid imaginations or who don't like graphic violence: this book has some pretty gruesome deaths in it.

I really liked the extra creep factor by setting this at a carnival. I liked that Gypsy is both part of the carnival family and not. That she's straddling two worlds here, as is Mick, and their shared past makes it easy for them to work together without dumping a load of backstory filler into the book.

The pacing is good, the characterizations are great. My only complaint is that the romance is a little thin. That's typical with RS, but I would have loved more conflict and page time there.

There's a fourth book coming out, and I couldn't be happier to see this series continue. Highly recommended for fans of Supernatural or Kay Hooper's Bishop series.

My Grade: A-

The Blurb:
Mick Tanner's ability to touch an item and know its entire history made him a hit in the sideshow, but has made personal relationships difficult. The closest one he's ever had is with the uncle who raised him in the carnival. So when members of that community begin to die in mysterious ways, there's nothing he won't do to help.

Chief of Police Gypsy Bell remembers Mick as a smug pain-in-the-ass, but he's grown up to be a very sexy, fascinating man. And like it or not, she needs his help to figure out the mystery that's plaguing her tiny town. Because this killer has a plan, a motive, and several targets. He's out to right a wrong...no matter how many people he has to kill to do it.

No comments:

Post a Comment